My Friend, My Pal, My White Knight… Forever

Dear JJ,

A year ago today was one of the hardest days of my life. I cried harder then I have ever cried. Its hard to believe that it’s been a year already. There was so much that you missed this year and times of my life that I needed you there to comfort me, when I had no one. There’s not a day that I don’t think of you. Although you were a dog, you felt human. I always knew you loved me.  It has been one heck of a year without you here.

When I moved to Salem I took your old snoopy chewie with me, that I got for you on Christmas, because it looks just like you, and it smells like you too. I recently went through my Piggy bank of change and I forgot that I put a pile of your hair in there before you passed. So now it’s in a bag, SAFE.!

About a month later after I moved, Vanessa and Josh decided that they wanted to breed Boss,(your uncle) and try to have puppies. So grandpa let us keep Boss. Today he is potty trained and sleeps on your two beds. But he is just not the same. He doesnt chase the ball or frisbee, doesnt flip biscuits off his noes, or shakes hands with me. And he’s not white. lol. He’s a happy dog to have a better environment , but he’s definitely not you. It’s been nice to have Boss around to keep me company.

JJ, you taught me many things that night. To LOVE AND CHERISH the time we get on this earth with the people and animals we love the most. But one thing that made me smile the most was that all those photographs that I took of you will always remind me of you. You were such a photogenic boy. Now the family thanks me for it.You were the one that got me into photography more. I just kept taking photos of you and I got hooked on it. Speaking of photography, I entered my photo of you at page mountain into the fair last year and got 2nd place. Now it hangs above my bed so you can watch over me.

I miss everything about you. Miss taking you out to go potty, going to grandpas and watching you do what you loved( to chase the dang cows!) :), miss your puppy eyes when you saw peanut butter on my finger, miss your black fluffy soft ears, miss your hand shakes, miss your smile, miss your doggy smell. Everything.!!! Even taking photos of you.

I wish I could just see you right now, and give you the biggest hug and kiss and tell you how much you meant to me. But I know that that cant happen, but I know that your watching me. I thank you for the last hour we had together. I sat on the edge of grandma’s arm of the couch and your rested you head on my lap, while I petted you. I’m happy that we got to take you to grandpa and grandma’s house, so that you can smell the farm air, see your cows, see your son, and see grandpa and grandma one last time. It was your happy place for sure. The last 10 minutes of your life I was able to get a  picture of you smiling at grandpa, 8 minutes before you passed.  I was so happy you smiled one last time, although you were in pain. I was with you that whole night while at grandpa’s house. Even when you went down the hallway acrossed from the front door and went to lay down and pass. I was trying to keep you from laying down telling you to come on, come on. Dad thought I was yelling at you. But i was trying to keep you from passing. I told dad that you were going down. Dad,Maya, gpa, and gma rushed over by your side and Dad, Maya and I put our hands on your chest, and when everyone was watching you, you looked at everyone and gave your last breath and passed at 8:30pm.You were finally at peace. You touched all of our hearts, made gpa cry, who never cries. While digging your grave, I couldn’t stop crying. The last words I said to you were” I love you sweet boy” I gave a kiss on your paw. That was really hard to do, as I never would see you again.

Today you rest by Beezer dog, and can see the house and driveway. You favorite spot. Dad found a redwood chunk of wood at your favorite beach. We sanded it down and I engraved your name  into it, and today it is being put on your grave by aunt robin and Grandpa. Dad also got a postal bucket of sand from your beach as well. You have your favorite spots with you all the time now. Grandpa’s and the beach.

Tonight in your memory I am having family and friends light a candle between 8-8:40pm.  You were only 6 years old. I will be sleeping with your snoopy chewie, and crying myself to sleep.

I read a blod post about a family that lost their dog, and a 6 year kid  that said

”People are born so that they can learn how to live a good life — like loving everybody all the time and being nice, right?” The Six-year-old continued,  ”Well, dogs already know how to do that, so they don’t have to stay as long.”

You have touched many peoples lives and you stole our hearts when we first saw you as a puppy. People still ask what happen, when they come in and see your picture at The Mail Center. You will never be forgotten. I thank you for every moment we had together, and what you taught me. I will cherish my photos of you forever. I will love you forever…

I found this poem, andi t’s so true:

I Thought of You Today

I woke early this morning, lifted the shade
to a sky overcast and gray.
No ray of sun to brighten my heart,
and I thought of you today.
The breezes of summer are no more
and have moved along on their way.
The crisp air of autumn has settled in,
and I thought of you today.
The crunch of the leaves under my feet,
I remembered how you loved to play,
chasing the leaves across the yard,
and I thought of you today.
As the daylight faded into dusk
and the shadows came to play,
I lit a candle and watched the flame dance,
and I thought of you today.
I crawled into bed, turned out the lamp
and glanced where you used to lay.
The tears came again, as they always do,
as I thought of you today.

I love you JJ! Forever My White Knight!

You made a huge impact on my life, although you were only here for 6 years.

Sincerely,

Chelsea

Thank You all for reading my letter to JJ! I hope I didnt make you cry to hard. If you would like to see more photos my boy go here: https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.1504956113166.2062216.1512176949&type=3

2 thoughts on “My Friend, My Pal, My White Knight… Forever

  1. Beautifully written. Thank you for sharing this love story. We lost our 10yo border collie last April, he died in our home. We also got a new puppy a month later who makes us laugh but he’s not Jake. Jake made us fall in love with this intelligent breed. We are so thankful we took tons of pictures too! I’m sorry you lost your dear friend. We will see them again one day. They say the only thing more emotional than losing them is reuniting with them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

